It’s the holidays, and I want to write!

My muse has a very strange sense of timing. I’m trying to finish edits on a completed manuscript. There is the piece I started for NaNoWritMo tugging at me to work on it and WHAM out of left field the opening I’ve been searching for on another work-in-progress comes out of left field and wants to be written RIGHT NOW!

Okay, well let’s see. Christmas Eve is upon us. My house will be full of guests. And you want me to write? Now? Blank stare.  Where in the devil were you in November when my Nano stalled because I was sick. There was no inspiration or muse around then. Why is it these wonderful, exciting dances with inspiration always hit when I’m too busy to make it to the keyboard.  In this case, I’m going to have my two year old granddaughter. Ever try to write with a two year old about? Oh yeah, great gobs of fun. “Sweetheart, what are you doing?”  “Nothing.”  Right.

So tomorrow, I will be chasing a pixie princess. There are party trays to make and baking to finish. And the entire time a story will be spinning in my head with no where to go. All I can say is, at least I won’t be bored. 

How do you handle ill timed inspiration?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ceylan
    Dec 24, 2008 @ 01:46:39

    I handle ill timed inspiration by writing it down in my date book then transferring it into my ideas book where I can look back on it when I am in need of a project. Hope this helps.

    Ceylan

    Reply

  2. sherilynwinrose
    Dec 24, 2008 @ 01:57:52

    Thanks for stopping by Ceylan.

    Scratching notes only manages to make a mess. LOL It will hold for a day or two..then I’ll get cranky if I can’t write.

    Reply

  3. dellanioakes
    Jul 27, 2009 @ 20:00:32

    I came across this blog in my list of favorites – been awhile since I visited. To answer your question, way belated, I don’t. I’m terrible about putting off one project to work on another. Or I work awhile on the “have to” project and reward myself with some writing time later. I try to do time for time ie. however much time I spend on the “have to”, I get on my “want to”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

