NaNoWriMo – I must have lost my mind!

What’s NaNoWritMo? It’s National Novel Writing Month. The goal? To write 50,000 words from November 1st to 30th. No editing or reading allowed. All doubts and editing witches checked at the door. Creation stripped bare for the fun of it all.  Thousands of people all over the country will come together to write and support one another.  

Last year members of my writing group jumped head long into NaNoWritMo while I recovered from a very intense writing competition and entered another one. I watched in awe and the with a bit of regret that I hadn’t joined in for the fun.

The competition landed me a book deal with Second Wind Publishing so all things considered I made out well despite missing NaNoWriMo.  This year I’m plugging my new title, ‘Safe Harbor‘ and editing what I hope will be my second book with Second Wind, Escape to Love.  

One would think my plate was full.  The last week or so I’ve started to question my sanity. Life and other things have interrupted my editing schedule. The promotion won’t get done on it’s own, and my poor husband is starting feel abandon. Why did I sign on to write 50,000 words in 30 days? Oh my goodness where will I find the time?

It’s just a bit under 1700 words a day. I’ve done more than that before. The most important reason I’m doing Nano? To remember what it’s like to create without monitoring my usage, premise, plot, figuring out whether or not the piece has commercial possibilities, is my point of view and tense all in line.. and the hundred other things I think about when I’m writing any more.

I’m doing this to take me back into the place where I wrote for me. What I wanted to read, and to devil with what anyone else thought.  Being a writer comes with a fair amount a pressure. It’s time to remember why I love it so much.  If you’re doing NaNo look for my login ‘dragonldy’ perhaps we can be joyful together.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Judi Fennell
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 23:38:07

    Cheering you from the sidelines, Sherrilyn! I’m sitting this one out since I’ve got my own internal Nano happening with my deadlines!

    Reply

  2. Pat Bertram
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 01:04:45

    That’s always a good place to be — writing for yourself. I can’t imagine writing 50,000 words a month, but best of luck to you.

    Reply

  3. Pat S.
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 01:11:22

    Excellent article Wendy! Yes, it’s all about remembering the joy!

    Reply

  4. sherilynwinrose
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 01:20:18

    I’m cheering for you as well Judi. Finishing your third installment of your mer-series for publication is so exciting!

    When your passion becomes work, it’s time to find the joy!

    Reply

  5. Vivian A
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 03:28:48

    See you there darling. Way to go on the sequel. I still need a plan, digging… digging… don’t worry it will eventually come to me. Maybe.

    Reply

  6. otherlisa
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 05:00:20

    I’m just gonna stalk all you NanoGuys and cheer from the sidelines…

    Reply

  7. sherilynwinrose
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 15:57:12

    Lisa, you’re a good type of stalker to have.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

